Lagos Assembly Speaker, Mudashiru Obasa, Re-elected for Another Term

Lagos Assembly Speaker, Mudashiru Obasa, Re-elected for Another Term

Mudashiru Obasa, the representative for Agege 1 constituency in the Lagos State House of Assembly, has been re-elected as the Speaker of the House, securing his position for a third term.

During the proceedings, Temitope Adewale, who represents Ifako-Ijaiye 1 state constituency, nominated Obasa for the position of Speaker.

The appointment of Obasa as Speaker took place shortly after the proclamation of the 10th Assembly by the Governor of Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, on Tuesday morning.

SEE ALSO:  NSCDC Chief Cautions Against Violating Presidential Order on Oil Theft

Additionally, Monisola Lasbat, who served as the Chief Whip in the previous Ninth Assembly, was elected as the Deputy Speaker of the 10th Assembly. Lasbat’s nomination received general acceptance from the House.

The nomination of Obasa was seconded by Ogunkelu Sylvester Oluwadahunsi, the legislator representing Epe II, and it received unanimous support from the House.

SEE ALSO:  Former Nigerian Minister Alison-Madueke Charged with Bribery by UK Police

Comprising 40 members, the 10th Lagos State House of Assembly is predominantly controlled by the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), which holds 38 seats. The Labour Party has two members in the Assembly.

Among the Assembly members, 20 are returning lawmakers, while the remaining 20 are serving their first term in office.

Leave a Comment