Naija News

Exploring the Creation of Three New States in the South-West – House of Reps

Exploring the Creation of Three New States in the South-West - House of Reps

A proposal has been put forward to the House of Representatives, suggesting the establishment of three additional states in the South-West region of Nigeria.

The lawmaker representing Obokun/Oriade Federal Constituency, Oluwole Oke from Osun State, is sponsoring this legislation.

The proposed bill, titled “A Bill for an Act to modify the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 (as revised),” aims to make changes to the First Schedule, Part I of the Constitution. It outlines the creation of three separate states: Oke-Ogun, Ijebu, and Ife-Ijesa.

Oke-Ogun State, with its capital city in Iseyin, would encompass 12 local government areas, including Olorunsogo, Irepo, Oorerelope, Ogbomosho North, Ogbomosho South, Saki-East, Saki-West, Atisbo, Itesiwaju, Iwajowa, Kajola, and Iseyin.

Ijebu State would be comprised of Ijebu East, Ijebu North-East, Ijebu Ode, Ikenne, Odogbolu, Ogun Waterside, Remo North, and Sagamu local government areas. Ijebu Ode is proposed as the capital city.

The Ife Ijesa State would consist of 11 local government areas, including Atakunmosa East, Atakunmosa West, Boluwaduro, Ife Central, Ife East, Ife North, Ife South, Ilesa East, Ilesa West, Oboku, and Oriade.

In a letter addressed to the Clerk of the House on February 6, 2024, Oke submitted the bill for further necessary legislative action, expressing his desire to present it in the House.

Currently, the South-West region of Nigeria comprises six states: Ondo, Oyo, Lagos, Ogun, Osun, and Ekiti.


Leave a Comment